Light at the End of the Tunnel

Light at the end of the tunnel

After 12 months of focused product development, several product and customer pivots, we are finally selling to early customers. I have for the first time real visibility to break even and profitability. There is a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel!

What makes this so liberating is that I finally have a clear cut success or failure measurement. I know exactly what we as a company need to do over the next several months. If we can execute then we have succeeded. If we don’t then I can put this venture to rest and move ahead with the rest of my life.

At this point I need more discipline than ever. Keep coming into the office every day and doing what we’ve been doing to get us here. That’s hard. On days when I’m bullish and feeling pumped about the business I start counting all the cash we will be making shortly. This of course is a distraction and keeps me from just doing what needs to be done today. Days when I’m bearish and feel like everything is falling apart I just want to start looking for the next thing — the next job or business idea.

My wallpaper for this month is a quote from Robt Collier: “Success is the sure of small efforts repeated day in and day out.” If I can just keep doing this one thing then that light will keep getting bigger and brighter.

How have you managed the final days of a long task? Share your insights or stories in the comments!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

